Header Gradient

Congressional Vision Caucus

The Congressional Vision Caucus (CVC) is a bipartisan coalition of Congressional Members dedicated to strengthening and stimulating a national dialogue and policy on vision-related problems and disabilities. Prevent Blindness was instrumental in the initial formation of the caucus and works closely with its members today.

The CVC, co-chaired by Rep. Gus Bilirakis, Rep. David Price (D-NC), has three priority areas of focus: research, prevention/public health, and access to treatment and rehabilitation.

The CVC Mission Statement

The mission of the CVC is to set forth a national vision strategy to raise awareness about the increasing number of Americans at risk for age-related diseases; provide better understanding of the personal risk of vision loss and stress the importance of necessary steps to preserve and protect eyesight; inform communities so that they may prepare the treatment and rehabilitation services that will be needed; educate Members of Congress so they comprehend the scope of eye problems in our country; and ensure adequate resources are directed towards the research, prevention and treatment of eye disease.


Caucus Members

Rep. Bob Gibbs (OH)

Rep. Raul Grijalva (AZ)

Rep. Brian Higgins (NY)

Rep. Jared Huffman (CA)

Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX)

Rep. Bill Johnson (OH)

Rep. Hank Johnson (GA)

Rep. David Joyce (OH)

Rep. Marcy Kaptur (OH)

Rep. Joe P. Kennedy (MA)

Rep. Ron Kind (WI)

Rep. Bob Latta (OH)

Rep. Barbara Lee (CA)

Rep. Daniel Lipinski (IL)

Rep. Frank Lucas (OK)

Rep. Carolyn Maloney (NY)

Sen. Ed Markey (MA)

Rep. Frank Pallone (NJ)

Rep. Bill Pascrell (NJ)

Rep. Donald Payne (NJ)

Del. Stacey Plaskett (USVI)

Rep. Mark Pocan (WI)

Rep. Deborah Ross (NC)

Rep. Bobby L. Rush (IL)

Rep. Tim Ryan (OH)

Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL)

Rep. David Scott (GA)

Rep. Terri Sewell (AL)

Rep. Mike Simpson (ID)

Rep. Chris Smith (NJ)

Rep. Michael R. Turner (OH)

Sen. Chris Van Hollen (MD)

Rep. John Yarmuth (KY)